(young) NVZA 2018-06-11T00:30:52+00:00

Nederlandse Vereniging van Ziekenhuisapothekers – NVZA

The NVZA, founded in 1929, is the scientific association for pharmacists working in the hospital.

The Dutch Association of Hospital Pharmacists (NVZA) supports pharmacists at the hospital in their professional and social responsibility to ensure optimal (specialized) pharmaceutical care for patients who have a treatment relationship with their hospital.

The pharmacist at the hospital is responsible for safe, effective, efficient, responsible and customer-oriented pharmaceutical care – in the hospital, the clinic, the outpatient clinic, in the regional healthcare chain. Working together with other specialists on the continuity of care for the patient without walls between second and primary care. With the patient in the center and working from his / her role as a therapist.

All this is done in a context of a changing society and a changing organization of care. Pharmacists at the hospital respond to this. The NVZA has a guide function in this: the members are part of a large organization, with its own patient population, vision of the future, local situation and priorities.

They are a scientific association and stimulate and promote research, innovation and expertise promotion. They are affiliated to the FMS (Federation Medical Specialists) in which they work together with the scientific associations of medical specialists to optimize the specialist care for the patient in and from the hospitals. They work closely with the KNMP (the Royal Dutch Society for the Promotion of Pharmacy). As of 1 January 2016, the NVPF (the Dutch Association for Outpatient Pharmacy) merged into the NVZA.

The NVZA is committed to optimizing specialist pharmaceutical care from a three part mission:

  1. The pharmacist at the hospital is responsible for the specialized pharmaceutical care of patients who have a treatment relationship with the healthcare institution
  2. The pharmacist at the hospital uses his / her expertise for patients for safe, effective and effective treatment with medicines
  3. The pharmacist of the hospital works from a transparent, professional and efficiently controlled pharmacy

The NVZA appreciates and encourages the input of young hospital pharmacists. Among other things, we also have contact with the Association of Pharmacists in Training at Ziekenhuisapotheker (young NVZA). For more information, please visit our website, the Kennisplein with which we share information, www.nvza.nl.

Young NVZA

On 1 January 2017, the VAZA switched to the Junior Division of the NVZA (Jong NVZA). This has further intensified the cooperation of the young pharmacists in the hospital with the scientific association.

Young NVZA is concerned with improving and promoting the training of hospital pharmacists and other pharmaceutical specialties by advising and thinking about experiences and points for improvement.

Every year they organize various activities to promote the experiences between the junior members and to impart knowledge. Activities they organize include soft skills trainings, symposiums, vision meetings and excursions combined with social activities.


Promoting the quality of the training to and the profession of the specialist, now and in the future and the exchange of knowledge and experience between (extraordinary) junior members. Every (extraordinary) junior member feels involved in the Junior department.


Young NVZA is approachable through various informative and social activities responding to the developments within the specialist pharmacy. Working together and maintaining contact with other associations (including NVZA, DJS, VJA and KNMP) is important here. The Junior Department is and remains involved in renewing the program and is committed to improving the work climate.

For more information about the young NVZA click here and you can email to  secretaris@jongnvza.nl

President: Patty Teeuwise

Secretary: Linda Franken

Treasurer: Nienke van Rein

Portefeuille Specialism: Juul Cox

Portefeuille Visitation & PR: Thomas Smits

Portefeuille Science and Research: Meta Diekstra

Portefeuille Social Affairs: Godelief van den Hurk